North East Young Filmmakers Awards is dedicated to celebrating the best of young film talent based in Northumberland, County Durham, Tyne and Wear and Teesside.

Filmmakers whose work is selected will be invited to a judge's masterclass and a red carpet reception before the awards ceremony. The ceremony will be held in the main auditorium of The Customs House, South Tyneside's premiere arts and culture venue, with selected films screened in their entirety.

2017's awards ceremony was hosted by Jason Cook (writer, The Chris Ramsey Show, Hebburn) with a judging panel of Loran Dunn (producer, Delaval Film, 2016 BFI Vision Award recipient), Laura Turner (writer, Eastenders: E20) and Eric MacLennan (actor, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, Tale of Tales).

Three prizes will be awarded for specific filmmaking disciplines, Screenwriting, Cinematography and Sound and Music. The grand prize of North East Young Filmmaker 2018 will be awarded to the director of the best film submitted.

Each award winner will be presented with a trophy and framed certificate, while the North East Young Filmmaker 2018 will be presented with a trophy, framed certificate and £100.

General Submission Guidance

1. The submission fee is non-refundable and non-negotiable.
2. The North East Young Filmmakers Awards is open to submissions from filmmakers currently based in the North East of England (Northumberland, County Durham, Tyne and Wear and Teesside).
3. Only films completed after April 1st 2017 are eligible for submission.
4. Films must not exceed the 10 minutes in length, inclusive of titles and credits.
5. The film's director, writer, cinematographer and sound designer must all be aged between 10–25 years old, with at least 75% of the production team also within this age category.
6. Those responsible for sound and music must be aged 10-25 years old to qualify for the Sound & Music award. However, films are not excluded for featuring work by actors or musicians over the age of 25.
7. There is a limit of one submission per director. However, filmmakers may submit more than one film they have worked on outside of the directing role.
8. Filmmakers confirm that they have obtained the necessary permissions for any copyright-protected material used by submitting their film. The Customs House will not be held where the appropriate rights or permissions have not been obtained.
9. The North East Young Filmmakers Awards will be presented on Thursday 31st May 2018 at The Customs House as part of The Takeover youth arts festival.

Content Guidelines

The North East Young Filmmakers Awards is intended as a cultural and educational event for young people. As such, there are a number of restrictions placed on the content of films accepted to the competition.

1. References to illegal drugs or drug misuse is only acceptable if it has a clear anti-drug message.
2. Infrequent use of very mild bad language can be featured.
3. Characters may be seen kissing and embracing but there should be no focus on mature content.
4. No discriminatory language may be used, unless clearly disapproved.
5. No promotion of anti-social and dangerous behaviour, and no glamorisation of accessible weapons.
6. Moderate physical and psychological threat and horror sequences accepted.
7. Occasional gory moments are accepted, if justified by context.

Submission Process

1. The deadline for submissions is midnight on Thursday 12th April 2018.
2. Films must be submitted via FilmFreeway at
3. When your film is received, you will be sent a submission form to complete. This must be returned by Sunday 22nd April 2018.

Notification of Acceptance and Rejection

1. Films submitted are not guaranteed to be shown at the award ceremony.
2. Filmmakers selected to be part of the awards ceremony will be notified via email no later than midnight on Thursday 26th April 2018, with the booking process for the awards show and masterclasses outlined.

Overall Rating
  • Beacon Films

    This is an excellent event for young filmmakers, the awards ceremony is entertaining and has great community spirit.

    July 2017