The San Diego Film Awards are presented annually by the Film Consortium San Diego to recognize the excellence of student, independent and professional filmmakers, talent, and crew in the San Diego film industry. Established in 2014, it is the only local awards show that recognizes cast, crew, and filmmakers for their achievements in the previous calendar year.

The Film Awards used to be the closing event for the annual San Diego Film Week, our own film festival. Since 2021 the San Diego Film Awards are a separate event held in the spring, accepting and awarding documentary shorts, narrative shorts, narrative features, and documentary features.

MISSION: San Diego Film Awards is a yearly televised award show that recognizes the excellence of student, independent, and professional filmmakers, talent, and crew in the San Diego film industry.



VIP Reception at premium venues in San Diego
Over 20 awards presented in 4 categories
Red Carpet experience with photos and interviews
Guest Stars and Presenters
Premiered on KPBS


Best Sound Design
Patrick Jerry for “Tick”

Best Editing
Tyler J. French for “Phase”

Best Production Design
Larry and Leah Freeland for “A Gunman’s Hand”

Best Lead Actor (SHORT FILM)
Manny Fernandes for “POLKA.”

Best Lead Actress (SHORT FILM)
Rachel Alig for “Wolf on a Leash”

Best Child Actor
Faithe Herman for “The Flourish”

Best Short Documentary
Bill Wisneski for “The Roads Most Traveled: Photojournalist Don Bartletti”

Best First Time Director
Bradley Dunn for “Tick”

Best Director
Luke McCain and Ryan Knight for “Wolf on a Leash”

Best Writing
Luke McCain and Ryan Knight for “Wolf on a Leash”

Best Cinematography
Tyler J. French for “Phase”

Carr Cavender for “To Hell and Gone”

Susan Gayle Watts for “To Hell and Gone”

Best Ensemble Cast
“The Perfect Life”

Spirit of San Diego
“Entrenched: Prologue” by A Face of Change

Best Short Film
“Wolf on a Leash” by Tribal Films Inc.

Best Feature Documentary
One More Win by Amy Lerner, Richard Heeley

Best Narrative Feature
“To Hell and Gone” by Aravaipa Productions

Binational Award Narrative Feature
Paul Espinosa

Women in Film Award
Jeanne Scott

My Power of One Award
Joe Castanho

Submission Categories


Narrative Features (over 45 minutes)
Narrative Shorts (under 45 minutes)
Documentary Features (over 45 minutes)
Documentary Shorts (under 45 minutes)

Note: If a STUDENT FILM wishes to compete in the range as INDEPENDENT/PROFESSIONAL films they must submit under the same category prizing as INDEPENDENT/PROFESSIONAL films.

Awards & Prizes

We love appreciating and rewarding talent! There are various opportunities to win awards and be recognized for your work.


Category: Narrative Feature

Best Narrative Feature
Best Actor (in a leading role)
Best Actress (in a leading role)

Category: Narrative Shorts

Best Narrative Short
Best Direction
Best Original Screenplay
Best Editing
Best Cinematography
Best Sound Design
Best Musical Score
Best Costume Design
Best Makeup and Hair
Best Visual Effects
Best Production Design
Best Stunt Choreography
Best Actor (in a leading role)
Best Actress (in a leading role)
Best Actor (in a supporting role)
Best Actress (in a supporting role)
Best Ensemble Cast
Best Child Actor
Spirit of San Diego
Best Student Narrative Short

Category: Documentary Feature

Best Documentary Feature

Category: Documentary Shorts

Best Documentary Short


Films produced in San Diego AND released between January 1, 2020, and December 31st, 2021 are eligible for the 2022 San Diego Film Awards. (Due to COVID, the 2022 awards will consider films released in 2020 and 2021)

All films submitted for consideration for San Diego Film Awards must be at least 80% produced in San Diego County. If you have questions about your film’s eligibility, please email prior to submitting it.

Film Consortium San Diego reserves the right to disqualify any films at any time in the awards process for violations or misconduct, plagiarism, etc.


All submission fees are NON-REFUNDABLE.


We cannot guarantee that the media provided for the awards will be returned unless specific requests are made.

For questions please email