Three day Film Festival! July 14-16 Lansing, Iowa



Stopped Motion: The Story of GULP
Director David Busch
Winner Best Director of Festival and Best Animated film

Director Tristan Crawford
Winner Best Actors in Festival
Winner Best Action Film

Director Tristan Crawford
Best new Filmmaker Award

Sicily Street
Director Daryl Hrdlicka
in Minnesota Filmmakers
Winner best Comedic Minnesota Short Film

The Academy of Extraordinary Heroes
Director Scott Klumb
Winner Best Autism Filmmaker

Long Day on a Lonely Planet
Directors Robert Barhite, Will Machay II
Winner Most
Creative Sci-Fi Fiction

Director Anthony Cuomo
Winner Student Film Category

Seeds of Life
Director Paige McKenna Grube
Winner Best Documentary in Festival

Director Taylor C Pipes
Winner of Best
Historic Family

'Sin Rock: The Story of Johnny Bazooka
Director Sean Klaus
Winner Mockumentary

Detective Drews
Director Penn Pauletich
Winner best Mystery

She Moved the Prairie
Directors Cheyla Clawson,
Winner Best Dance Film

Dog-Gone It!
Director Hunter James Cox
Winner Best
Dog Movie

Director Julie Koehnen
Winner Best Minnesota Filmmaker

Complete Bull
Director Barry Andersson
Winner Best Series Film in Festival

Director Steve Blackwood
Winner Best
Best Period Movie


Lacey Awards 2021

The Winners of The Spring Grove Caledonia Film Festival!
Project Title with Director to Follow and then Award⭐️🏆♥️
Seeking Bigshoe
Robert Barhite
Best Wisconsin Filmmaker

Growing Charlotte
Anna Czarska
Best Foreign Family Short

Dizzy's World © pilot
Robert Lawrence
Best Television Pilot/Best Actress Joanna Sanchez

LUTAH A Passion for Architecture: A Life in Design
Kum-Kum Bhavnani
Best Documentary Women in History

Making a Play
Peter Gould
Best Theater Short

She was the Deputy's Wife
Travis Mills
Best Script Fiction Feature

Wes Worthing
Best Iowa Short

In their eyes
Arnaud Blin
Best Foreign Short

To Live Again
Dr. Michael White
Best Iowa Feature Film

Bad Undercover Cops
Daniel Rudin, Kelby Joseph
Best Comedy Short

Pale Dawn
Doug Gerash
Best Horror Short

Burren Girl
Rita Davern
Best Minnesota Filmmaker Award

Love on Holiday
Chris Opper
Best Music Documentary Award

M.r. Fitzgerald
Best Horror Series

People in A Box
M.r. Fitzgerald
Best Script Submission

Good Business Sense
Emmett Loverde
Best Short Film in Festival

Sigmund & Dora
Shelby Hagerdon
Best Costumes/Best Set

My promise to PJ
Daniel Baldwin
Best Documentary Feature in Festival

Tomorrow's Today
Timothy Hines
Best Cast in Feature/Best Director in Feature

Becoming Geppetto
Dale Lindquist
Best Wisconsin Filmmaker Documentary

Dozer's Pet Diesel
Peter Charles Downey
Best in Dog Film Category

Home Again
RubyAnn Stiegelmeier
Best New Filmmaker Award

Hand Me Down
Jon Bartholomew
Best Cinematography Short

Steve Blackwood
Best Actors in a Short Award

"A Dream of Touch When Touch is Gone"
Carl Flink
Best Dance Film in Festival

Neurodiverse: One Couple's Experience
Scott Klumb
Best Film in Autism Category

The Diabolical Schemes of Thadeus Jackson
Brandon Crawson
Best Action Film in Festival

September 25th 2020

Filmmaker Awards “Spring Grove International Film Festival”
Inaugural Festival September 11-13th

1) “Three Bells” Director Jake Griggs.
1) Most Inspiring short film.
2) Best Wisconsin Filmmaker Award.

2) ”1000 Miles to Nome” Director David Mabel & Steve Cannon
Best Nature Feature Award.

3) “16 to Life” Director Becky Smith.
Best Iowa Feature Film Award.

4) Trilogy of Shorts films. “Inner Peace” “Pretty Ugly Dreams”
“The Space of Peace” Director Svern Lang.
Best Iowa Short Filmmaker Award.

5) “The Butterfly Effect” Directed by Deb Wallwork and Janet Bayliss.
Best Butterfly Film in Category Award.

6) “The Dental Plan” Director Wayne Diu.
Best Action Film Award.

7) “Cookophony” Director Joe Chavala.

1) Best Dance Film Director in Festival Category Award.
2) Best Dance Cast Award.

8) “The Wolf” Director/Writer M.R. Fitzgerald.

1) Best psychological Intellectual Script “The Wolf” M.R. Fitzgerald.
2) Best Cinematography 10-30-minute category.

9) ”The Chair” Director Ronnie Cramer.
Best Animation Award.

10) “Blake” Directed by David Busch.
Most heartwarming Short Film.

11) “The Business of Autism” Director Stephen Mackey.
Best Film in Autism Category Award.

12) “Beauty Brains and Personality” Writer/Director Emmet Loverde.
1)Best scripted Feature.
2) Best Film Marketer Award.

13) “The One and Only Jewish Miss America” Director David Around.
Best Documentary Feature Award.

14) “Father and Father” Directors Michael Baumgarten & Art Camacho.
Best Short Action Film Award.

15) “Master Servant” Director Julie Koehnen.
1) Best Short Film Minnesota Filmmaker Award.
2) Best Costumes in Festival Award.

16) “On Top of The World” Director Kevin Isaacson.
Special Director Media Award for film and podcast work.

17) “Maids” Director Sofia Castro.
Best International Dance Film Award.

18) “Senior Entourage” Director Brian Connors.
1) Best Supporting Actress Marion Ross.
2) Best Actors Lifetime Achievement acting awards, Mr. Ed Asner and Mr. Mark Rydell.
3) Best special supporting actor award David Lockhart.
4) Best Singer Award Helen Reddy.
5) Best Director/Writer. Brian Connors.
6) Best bit Player Zia Jamali.
7) Best Producers Award Teresa Porter, Zia Jamali.

19 ) “Good Men” Director/Writer Brian Connors.
1) Best Actor of the festival. Mr. Ed Asner.
2) Best short script 10-minute category award.

20) “The Blue Butterfly” Directed by Gina Meinertz.
Best short family historical creative film Minnesota Award.

1) All films entered may have appeared at other festivals.
2) Selected film makers will be given a free pass to the festival.
3) Selected film makers may be asked to give a presentation for the audience.
4) No pornography or nudity will be accepted.
5) Festival will retain the right to show films at all venues within the festival.
6) All films must be sent in a digital file submitted on-line.
7) No hard copy films will be accepted for entry.
8) All materials submitted will not be returned to film makers.
9) Please be advised that the festival is family friendly and open to all people of all walks of life and of from all countries.
10) Housing will not be provided for film makers.
11) The La Crosse, Wisconsin airport is 40 minutes away and The Rochester Minnesota Airport is an hour away.

Films were shown all day Friday and Saturday, with invited artists speaking about their films in special sessions live and on zoom in some cases!

Live parade honoring Mr. Ed Asner on September13th. Spring Grove has declared Ed Asner Day an official Holiday! Come join the fun! Mask up and socially distant!

Sponsored by Sacred Noise Society Inc .

Overall Rating
  • Gary Judson

    An artist-friendly Festival where I was able to meet with other creators, discuss our projects and view their work. The staff and management were incredibly kind and courteous. I left the Festival feeling re-inspired by the power of film and the people who create it. A wonderful event.

    August 2022
  • David Busch

    We had a great time at the Star City Film Festival! Founder/Host Katie O'Regan puts on a great festival, and we were honored to have our film shown at her event. Hope to make it back again next year!

    July 2022

    July 2022
  • Amazing festival. I was unable to atend due to a prior engagement, but I have worked with Katie in the past and have heard nothing but praise for this year's festival. Thank you for selecting my film to be a part of it!

    July 2022
  • What a wonderful experience! The Stephanie Weill Center is an amazing facility for a festival. Katie does a great job engaging with the filmmakers and the festival audience. Looking forward to participating next year.

    September 2021