Up to 30 shortlisted films will be announced during October 2023 and screened at the 11th Winter Warmer poetry festival (26th-28th Nov 2023) at Nano Nagle Place in Cork city, as well as online. The overall winner is announced at the end of the screening.

2023 is the 11th year of the competition. Previous winners include Janet Lees, Peta-Maria Tunui, Waitahi Aniwaniwa McGee, Shania Bailey-Edmonds, Jesse-Ana Harris, Lilián Pallares, Charles Olsen, Fiona Aryan, Alvaro Martin, Kayla Jeanson, Marie Craven, Cheryl Gross, Marleen van der Werf and Manuel Vilarinho.

One winner will receive the festival prize for best poetry-film. The award is designed by glass artist/poet Michael Ray.

View previous winners and prizes at:


International submissions are accepted for any poetry-film under ten minutes (English subtitles are required for non-english language films). Entries must have been completed within two years of the opening submission date (since 1st May 2021).

Submissions will be open from 1st May – 31st August. Entries made outside of these dates cannot be considered. You may submit as many films as you like – each entry must convey a poem (present in its entirety, audibly and/or visually).

Broadly speaking, a poetry-film is the translation of a poem into film form, by way of interpretation that features the entire poem, either visually and/or audibly.