One ticket. No limits.

Celebrating its eighth year in 2017, The Loft Film Fest (located in beautiful Tucson, Arizona) is dedicated to showcasing the best independent, foreign and classic films, as well as celebrating the work of established and emerging directors, writers, producers and actors. The Loft Film Fest, through its eclectic and diverse programming, aims not only to expand the audience for cinema that challenges, inspires and entertains, but also to honor those artists whose talent and passion bring that cinema to life.


Described by Filmmaker Magazine as being “geared truly toward cinephiles of nearly every stripe,” and praised for its “phantasmagorical programming … and astute choice of guests,” The Loft Film Fest was created in 2010 as a showcase for the very best independent, foreign and classic cinema. For five days in November, The Loft Film Fest provides an intimate and unique setting for film fans to experience hand-selected festival favorites from Cannes, Sundance, SXSW, etc., and to meet internationally-renowned artists from the world of independent cinema.

Special guests of The Loft Film Fest have included acclaimed contemporary filmmakers such as Carlos Reygadas, Alex Cox, Chris Eyre, Larry McMurtry, Don Coscarelli, The Zellner Brothers, Bobcat Goldthwait, Kirby Dick and Richard Kelly; celebrated actors including Bruce Dern, Griffin Dunne, Rosanna Arquette, Robert Carradine, Stacy Keach, Jon Lovitz, Udo Kier, Alfonso Arau, and Rita Moreno; and industry legends such as Roger Corman, recipient of the 2012 “Lofty Lifetime Achievement Award.”

The Loft Film Fest, produced by the award-winning, non-profit Loft Cinema (a member of the Sundance Art House Project and named “Best Movie Theatre in Tucson” by readers of the Tucson Weekly every year since 2003), is fiercely committed to continuing its tradition of bringing world-class film festival programming to Tucson, connecting audiences with artists and celebrating the unique spirit of independent cinema.

JJ Giddings (Festival Co-Director ) ; Jeff Yanc (Festival Co-Director) ; Mike Plante (Programming Consultant) ; Zach Breneman (Managing Director)

Awards & Prizes

Lee Marvin Maverick Award (Presented by Pam Marvin)
The Kirby Dick Humanitarian Award (Presented by Kirby Dick)
The Bob Shelton Award
Lofty Lifetime Achievement Award
Audience Award for Short Films
CICAE Art Cinema Award (Juried)

Rules & Terms

We accept all kinds of films, all genres, all lengths, with a production year of 2016 or 2017. Features are 60 minutes or longer, shorts are less than 60 minutes long.

All films must be Tucson film festival premieres.