The Fargo Film Festival is the premier annual moving picture event in the state of North Dakota. Featuring more than 100 movies every March, the five day festival takes place at the Historic Fargo Theatre, a beautiful, 870-seat art deco movie palace equipped with a Mighty Wurlitzer pipe organ.

The Fargo Film Festival showcases work from all over the world and routinely programs movies that go on to receive distribution. In recent years, the festival has hosted several Oscar-nominated filmmakers and many Oscar-nominated films.

The festival's Ted M. Larson Award honors individuals who have demonstrated outstanding, longtime contributions to film education, film production, film culture, and/or film criticism and history. Recipients of the Ted M. Larson Award include George A. Romero, John Waters, Hal Hartley, Don Hertzfeldt, Janet Leigh, Richard Edlund, and Leonard Maltin.

The Fargo Film Festival names winners in each of its seven categories and also honors films with several special awards.

Moviemakers should note that the narrative feature category and the documentary feature category close on October 1. The Fargo Film Festival does NOT accept extended deadline submissions for either feature category. The remaining six categories offer an extended deadline.

Movies must be submitted electronically through the FilmFreeway site or via a link to Vimeo or the moviemaker's provided URL. No physical media, including DVD and Blu-ray, are accepted as submission copies.

If selected, submitters are required to provide a file of their movie in DCP format, the industry standard for theatrical exhibition. With the exception of 2-Minute Movie Contest selections, DCP is the only accepted exhibition format of the Fargo Film Festival.

Moviemakers must electronically submit a high-resolution image from their movie.

Movies must have been completed after January 1, 2020.

Moviemakers are responsible for obtaining all necessary rights and releases for public screening of their work.

Overall Rating
  • Jim Hall

    Muffy Drake Media was honored to have one of our quirky experimental FilmPoems selected this year! Fargo Film Festival is one of those events that just gets better every year.

    July 2022
  • Elizabeth Chatelain

    I love this festival! The directors, staff and volunteers are so welcoming to filmmakers. The parties and events are great, and the whole community really gets involved. As a Fargo native, it's great to come back time and again to be a part of this fantastic celebration of film. Thank you Fargo Film Festival!!

    July 2022
  • I wasn't able to attend but I was honored to be accepted. Quality programming, supports independent makers

    April 2022
  • Kelsey Andries

    What an amazing festival! Fargo film festival is amazing from top to bottom. From the clear and concise communication, to the passion of the organization committee and volunteers to the amazing Theatre, this is a festival that you want to attend. My husband and I attended and had an absolute blast and we will defiantly be back!!

    April 2022
  • Matthew Koshmrl

    First time in the Fargo Film Festival and I had a great experience. The programming was very well done. I enjoyed the diverse and thematically varied selection of films. The venue is incredible! I hope to come again with another film or as an audience member!

    March 2022