The Fargo Film Festival is the premier annual moving picture event in the state of North Dakota. Featuring more than 100 movies every March, the five day festival takes place at the Historic Fargo Theatre, a beautiful, 870-seat art deco movie palace equipped with a Mighty Wurlitzer pipe organ.

The Fargo Film Festival showcases work from all over the world and routinely programs movies that go on to receive distribution. In the past several years, the festival has hosted several Oscar-nominated filmmakers.

The festival's Ted M. Larson Award honors individuals who have demonstrated outstanding, longtime contributions to film education, film production, film culture, and/or film criticism and history. Recipients of the Ted M. Larson Award include George A. Romero, John Waters, Hal Hartley, Don Hertzfeldt, Janet Leigh, and Leonard Maltin.

Awards & Prizes

The Fargo Film Festival names winners in each of its seven categories and also honors films with several special awards.

Rules & Terms

Movies must be submitted electronically, via a link to a site such as Vimeo or the moviemaker's provided URL. No physical media, including DVD and Blu-ray, are accepted as submission copies. If the moviemaker's work is selected, an approved exhibition copy must be provided.

Moviemakers must electronically submit a high-resolution image from their movie.

Movies must have been completed after January 1, 2015.

Moviemakers are responsible for obtaining all necessary rights and releases for public screening of their work.

2 Reviews

Overall Rating
  • false
    Conor Holt

    Fantastic festival. A terrific showcase for cinema in the lovely Fargo, ND, with amazing special guests & always great films to see.

    October 2016
  • false
    Burleigh Smith

    Great festival run by great people!

    May 2016