The Zsigmond Vilmos Film Festival primarily aims at drawing attention to the work of cinematographers, one of the most important co-creators of a film, together with giving an opportunity to young artists to show their art. Hungarian cinematography has become world-famous in the past 50 years, and the members of the new generations, who both follow and renew the traditions, are no exception. The festival jury will evaluate the films submitted to the festival primarily on the basis of the cinematography, but will of course also look at the overall artistic quality.

The festival also wishes to focus on Zsigmond Vilmos’s life and art and to show today’s cinematographers what he achieved. So every year we will also show a retrospective of his work, a selection of his films based on different criteria, as well as documentaries and interviews with and about him, since Vilmos Zsigmond, the world-famous, Academy Award-winning cinematographer, was born in Szeged and was also named honorary citizen of the town. The largest auditorium with 540 seats in Belvárosi Cinema, which is one of the biggest, oldest and most beautiful cinemas in Hungary, was named after him in 2005, and he was very proud of it. He visited the cinema many times and brought international TV companies along to the place where he first met the wonderful world of movies.

There will be further events accompanying the main programme, including workshops for professionals, open lectures given by members of HSC and ASC, Q&A’s with artists and film critics, discussions about education in film and cinematography, exhibitions and concerts.

The honorary patron of the festival is Susan Zsigmond.

Zsigmond Vilmos Award for Best Cinematography

CinProCaS® Award for the best cinematographer

Best Feature Award

Best Documentary Award

Best Short Feature Award

Critics’ Choice Award

Student Jury Award

Special Mentions are possible in the 5 above categories

Szeged Award

HCA - Hungarian Cinematographers' Association Award

Vision Team and Special Grip Hungary Award, Best Young Cinematographer

Lifetime Achievement Award

The jury reserves the right not to present every award.

The call is open to individual filmmakers and artistic communities without age restriction, but the festival organisers especially look forward to receiving films made by students majoring in film studies, directing or cinematography. We also wish to create a platform for young artists to meet and share their experience on what film education is available and how filmmaking is supported in their respective countries.

Film submissions should, first of all, show unique and creative cinematography, which also characterised Vilmos Zsigmond’s work.

New films, completed after 1 January 2022, can be submitted to the festival. There are no restrictions on theme, technical specifications, genre or length. One filmmaker can submit more than one film. The films will be grouped into different sections according to genre.

The call is open to feature films, short films, experimental films, documentaries and animation. Applications can be submitted through the Application form on the festival website. For viewing purposes, we can only accept online screeners (on Youtube, Vimeo, etc., please provide password in case your screener is password protected) that will expire only after the festival. All films have to be subtitled in English.

Submissions selected for the competition programme later on will have to be sent to the festival organisers on DCP.

After the festival, we will return the DCPs, and we will also make a copy of the award winning films for our festival archive.

We do not pay rental fees or copyright fees for the films screened within the festival programme.

Applications can be submitted on application form:
The application deadline is 21 January 2018, midnight (CET).

Depending on the number of submissions, the films will be pre-selected by a jury of five to ten film professionals, including cinematographers and directors.

The competition programme of the festival will be announced on 1 March 2018.

We will provide accommodation and meals for filmmakers (1-2 people per film) whose films are selected to participate in the competition programme.

The festival date is 9-12 May 2018.


After pre-selection, an international jury will choose the best films from the competition programme.

Members of the jury:

Dr Gábor Szabó (HSC): Béla Balázs Award-winning cinematographer, university teacher, director of photography of The Long Shadow by Vilmos Zsigmond, president of the jury