Participate in Copenhagen Architecture Festival’s global short film competition focusing on the UN's 'Leave No One Behind' agenda (LNOB)!

🢂 MANDATORY intro & outro:

We are asking for MAX 3 MINUTE LONG films addressing and showcasing inclusive and non-discriminatory design solutions in the built, planned or grown environment.

The winners will be invited to attend Copenhagen Architecture Festival taking place from 22. June - 9. July 2023 in parallel with the World Capital of Architecture and UIA World Congress. An international jury is set up to judge the films.

Incoming films will be published on our website on an ongoing basis prior to the submission deadline, so please submit during 2022 as well to give life to the Film Mosaic.

🡪 For any questions please send your inquiries to .

The film submitted must address architectural-, design-, or urban planning solutions to inequality and discrimination against socially based on factors such as gender, age, ethnicity, sexual orientation, limited mobility, or income.

• Accepted genres: documentary, fiction, animation, or a hybrid
➽ The film submitted MUST begin with the mandatory intro and conclude with the outro, both of which can be downloaded at
➽ Maximum duration: 3 MINUTES - excluding the mandatory intro and outro
• Language: If dialogue, it must have English subtitles and/or be in English
• Format: .mp4 or .mov
• You accept our Terms and Conditions
• Final Deadline: 1st of March 2023
• Films that do not comply with content, format, and rights guidelines will not be considered. This is decided sovereignly by the organization.


Architecture Film Directors Békà & Lemoine, Architect Anupama Kundoo, Founder and Editor in Chief of ArchDaily David Basulto, President of Congress for the World Congress in Copenhagen and Vice President of the UIA Nordic section Natalie Mossin, Founder and Director of Copenhagen Architecture Festival, Josephine Michau

The Leave No One Behind Agenda (LNOB) is the central, transforming promise in the UN's 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. It represents the unequivocal commitment of all UN Member States to eradicate poverty in all its forms, end discrimination and exclusion, and reduce the inequalities and vulnerabilities that undermine the potential of humans and other living beings.

Discrimination persists in the design of the built and planned environment, indoors, outdoors, public and private. This includes discrimination against socially, physically or mentally vulnerable or challenged groups based on gender, age, ethnicity, sexual orientation, limited mobility or income.

The Film Mosaic aims at documenting solutions to these forms of discrimination, creating an understanding of the diversity of the reality in which the LNOB agenda must be resolved, and generating new knowledge and insight about sustainable cities, residential areas, buildings, building materials, infrastructure, and other urban practices that promote the fight against inequality.

The incoming films will result in a global Film Mosaic of everyday voices from different geographical and cultural contexts, available for researchers, educators, laymen and decision-makers during and after the competition. The Film Mosaic will be used as a powerful tool of impact during the UIA 2023 World Congress towards the many decision-makers gathered in Copenhagen then—and as the point of departure for a bigger impact campaign that can spread rings beyond 2023.

During Copenhagen Architecture Festival 2023, the winner of the 1st prize will be awarded 2,500€, the 2nd 1,500€ and 3rd a prize 1,000€. The three final winners will be invited to UIA World Congress 2023 CPH to present, debate and promote their films.

Terms and Conditions

• Deadline 1st of March 2023.
🢂 Submission must be done via the submission page: 🢀
• No submission fees

Films submitted must comply with the Guidelines which can be downloaded on the submission page.
Film premiere is not required.
Promotional films are not accepted (e.g. educational, industrial, advertising, tourist films etc.).
By submitting your work, you declare that the material submitted is the result of your own work, that you have not plagiarized the work of others, and that all sources and materials used (e.g. film, sound, artwork, images, participants) are rights-cleared and licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International (CC BY-NC 4.0). Example of liability: Copenhagen Architecture Festival shall not be liable for any allegations of copyright and trademark infringement concerning material submitted by contributors.

The organizers will appoint a selection committee besides the currently appointed jury members that will oversee the final selection for the competition.

The organizers may also authorize persons, whom they consider competent, to pre-select films for the selection committee or directly to the competition.

All submitted films that comply with the content, Guidelines and Terms and Conditions of the film competition will be published on the website dedicated to the competition. After your film has been submitted it will undergo a process of reviewing and publication. New material will not be published after June 2023.
Films that do not comply with the content, Guidelines and Terms and Conditions of the film competition will not be published.
Final selection screenings in April 2023 for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd prize.
Winners will be notified of the selection results no later than mid-May 2023.

Upload of cinema screening format no later than end of May 2023.*
An email specifying the technical requirements for cinema screening and a link for upload will be sent out to you
ALL films with dialogue must have hardcoded English subtitles if English is not the spoken language.
CAFx is authorized to use a short excerpt (max. 1,5 minutes) of the film in a radio, TV or video programme presenting CAFx – Copenhagen Architecture Festival.
All film and music rights and clearances must have been obtained by the filmmakers (in accordance with CC BY-NC 4.0).
You cannot withdraw your film from the CAFx competition after selection by the CAFx-selection committee.
CAFx is authorized to screen selected films as part of a Best of CAFx FILM MOSAIC 2023-tour in selected cities around the world.
* The festival reserves the right to refuse or cancel the screening of any film if advised by authorized technicians that the film is not of sufficient quality to ensure satisfactory public screening.

By submitting your work you as contributor/s agree to license the material submitted under the Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0), which grants Copenhagen Architecture Festival the irrevocable right to:

Redistribute the material via the Film Mosaic: Leave No One Behind, accessible as a free-of-charge online resource on an official platform to be utilized by for debate events, exhibitions, articles, inspiration, etc.
Promote and screen the material at relevant film festivals and initiatives.

By submitting a film, you accept our Data Policy in accordance with the GDPR. Read more about CAFx data policy.