Stop the Rocket Music Video

This brief music documentary features the campaign by the Citizens for a Clean and Safe Lake Superior to stop the construction of a proposed spaceport along the Lake Superior shoreline north of Marquette, MI. The lyrics were written by Dennis Ferraro, CCSLS Presidett. to the tune of John Prine's song "Flag Decal." The melody has been licensed through Warner Chappell music.

  • Jerry Mills
    Series of 65 Jerryism video shorts
  • Dennis Ferraro
  • Jerry Mills
  • Project Type:
    Music Video, Short
  • Runtime:
    2 minutes
  • Completion Date:
    September 22, 2022
  • Production Budget:
    500 USD
  • Country of Origin:
    United States
  • Country of Filming:
    United States
  • Language:
  • Shooting Format:
  • Aspect Ratio:
  • Film Color:
  • First-time Filmmaker:
  • Student Project:
Director Biography - Jerry Mills

Jerry Mills is a talented singer/songwriter, professional speaker and author based in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. Forty years ago he came to the U.P. for a “brief” visit. Then he saw Lake Superior and has called this home ever since. In his free time, Jerry is also an avid photographer/videographer. He is best known for his Jerryism video series, a collection of more than 60 video shorts, many highlighting the sights, sounds and goings on along the Lake Superior shoreline.

Add Director Biography
Director Statement

"Stop the Rocket" is a campaign song produced by the Citizens for a Safe and Clean Lake Superior (CSCLS) to STOP the future development of a rocket launch facility on the shores of Lake Superior only miles north of Marquette, MI. CSCLS was formed by local citizens concerned about the impact such a development would have on this area.

The chosen melody for this "Stop the Rocket" music video comes from John Prine's 1969 protest song, "Your Flag Decal Won't Get You Into Heaven Anymore." Sincere thanks to Walden Music/ASCAP c/o Warner Chappell Music for providing us with a special use license permitting us to use these alternative lyrics. Both the lyrics and the melody of this song are ©2022 Walden Music/ASCAP c/o Warner Chappell Music.

To learn more or to get involved in our campaign, please visit: