'Patches On A Wall' by Akabane Vulgars On Strong Bypass

  • Song written by Yumi Uchizono, Miki Uchizono, and Kei Sofue
  • Music video directed by Go Ikeda
  • Akabane Vulgars On Strong Bypass
    Name of Band or Artist
  • Project Type:
  • Length:
    4 minutes 43 seconds
  • Completion Date:
    June 13, 2017
  • Country of Origin:
  • Language:
  • Student Project:
Artist Biography

Akabane Vulgars on Strong Bypass formed in Tokyo, Japan in 2005. Miki Uchizono, the band’s bass player, was the mastermind behind it—bringing in the right people for the lineup of her new band: power-drummer Kei Sofue, a classmate of hers, and her sister Yumi Uchizono on lead vocals and guitar. This is how their journey begins:

The band played hundreds of shows and made various recordings before 2012. They also took several tours with three self-released albums. Their earnest attitude towards their energetic live performances garnered them the reputation of “THE band of live performance!” More and more, audiences across Japan started to recognize and follow them for their unique blend of rockabilly and psychobilly vibes, while others appreciated them more as a garage and blues rock band. The band explains that the most important element in their sound and spirit comes from punk, as they have many songs with lyrics bringing forth the issues of the world and human rights abuses.

In the summer of 2012, Akabane Vulgars took to the stage at SXSW that ultimately led them to return for a 2-month nationwide U.S. tour from Southern California to NYC. Additionally, they were invited to Japanese Culture Conferences and J-POP SUMMIT as the headliner. During their tour in the U.S., the band also had opportunities to record.

In the beginning of 2013, Akabane Vulgars returned again to the United States for 50 more shows promoting their two full-length albums: Proclamation, expressing their straight up punk attitude, and their first live album: Live in Brooklyn.

The trio came back to J-POP SUMMIT for the fourth time in 2014, and expanded their musical expedition to include Northern Ireland, appearing in SUNFLOWER FEST later that year.

Their momentum carried into 2015: after appearing at Con-Nichiwa in Arizona, they released their EP, From a Chain Rapture with Live in Home, followed by The Chain Rapture Tour: appearing in J-POP SUMMIT once again, and nine other venues in the East Coast of USA.

In 2016, their hard work and tours overseas started to pay off as their reputation in Japan grew even more—finally winning them the rare opportunity to join Japan’s biggest music event: FUJI ROCK FESTIVAL.

After a long stint focused on touring abroad, Akabane Vulgars was ready to rebuild their domain and fan base in their homeland of Japan. Their domestic club circuit began, securing them a regular spot in the rosters of both established and up-and-coming venues: Red Cloth in Shinjuku and Firebird in Shinmatsudo.

For their fourth full-length album, 3, the band took on a new challenge to reach the next level: writing a wider variety of songs and collaborating with an esteemed engineer. The album received high praises from fans and supporters of the industry, and won them their first nation-wide CD distribution in 2017.

Akabane Vulgars on Strong Bypass has befriended many fans and musicians along their journey both domestic and abroad. They have appeared in many articles: notably, alongside the legendary Shonen Knife. Additionally, in one review, they were depicted as part of the emerging new generation of bands that are once again shining the spotlight on J-Rock, and its growing domestic and global impact.

On March 20th of 2019, Akabane Vulgars on Strong Bypass’ latest album, They Call Her Bitch, will launch worldwide digital distribution and national CD distribution (in Japan). They Call Her Bitch is an irresistible and energetic album for the true rock fans that like it hearty. The amalgamation of rhythm combined with imaginative lyrics channel another realm; this album brings the band’s dynamic composition to the next level—a new rock masterpiece!


Add Artist Biography
Artist Statement

Punk rock band Akabane Vulgars on Strong Bypass uncovers the state of the world with superbly descriptive lyrics accompanied by thick driving beats. Their strong presence at SXSW (2012), FUJI ROCK FESTIVAL (2016), and Canadian Music Week (2019) proved to the world that they are the real deal. For their new and fifth studio album, the band incorporates Latin rock, funk rock, psychobilly, and folk rock flavors to their original garage punk and blues rock styles. Their songwriting is even more dynamic and broader: highly imaginative arrangements with distinct rhythms for all 8 songs–it is a fresh playlist that garage punk lovers won’t be able to resist listening to over and over again.