We believe independent filmmakers deserve to get recognition for the hard work they put into their projects. That's why every eligible entry into the North American Film Awards (NAFA) receives an official nomination laurel and consideration into the award category the entrant submitted to.

With over 20 award categories, it is also possible for entrants to receive multiple nominations for unlimited projects.

An industry professional jury from the USA and Canada will decide on the winners of each category after the final entry deadline.

Awards & Prizes

All eligible entrants receive an official NAFA NOMINATION LAUREL plus category specific nominee laurels.

Winners of each category plus jury, silver and bronze winners will receive a selection of golden NAFA WINNER LAURELS and award publication on our website. (please note: no films will be screened online).

A selection of the jury's favorite films from our top category winners will be screened at our annual event. Entrants of chosen screening films will be notified prior to the event.


Best International Film

Best North American Film

Best Student Film

Best Documentary

Best Editor

Best Director

Best Writing (in a produced film)

Best Actor

Best Actress

Best Cinematography

Best Sound Design

Best Visual Effects

Best Production Design

Best Music / Original Score

Best Animation

Best Action

Best War / Western

Best Sci-Fi

Best Drama

Best Comedy

Best Experimental

Best Horror

Best Thriller

Best Spec Script (For Stage or Screen)


Special Jury Awards

Silver Awards

Bronze Awards

Rules & Terms

• A separate entry fee is required for each category submission.

• Multiple submissions are allowed. There is no limit to the number of categories you wish to be nominated for, or the number of projects you wish to submit.

• Films of any length are eligible regardless of genre or premiere/broadcast status. Films that have been screened at festivals or online are also eligible.

• Film entries not in English must have English subtitles.

• Script/Screenplay entries not written in English must submit an English translation.

• Notification of winners/award results and films selected to screen at our event will be sent out within four weeks of the final deadline.

• The decision of the jury is final. NAFA reserves the right to not award a winner in categories where adequate entries have not been received.

• Information regarding winning filmmakers and stills of winning films may be shown on the NAFA website and publicity/promo material including press releases and other materials.

• Filmmakers of selected screening films will be contacted and are welcome to attend our annual festival screening. NAFA is unable to provide any financial assistance to filmmakers: flights, accommodation and other related costs to attend the event are at the responsibility of the filmmaker.

• All entry fees are non-refundable.

• No fee waivers will be allowed.

• Entrants are responsible for securing all rights and permissions from copyright and other holders relating to their film.

• Animal cruelty, the mistreatment and/or violence toward animals in films (as defined by the screening panel), whether real, simulated or implied, is not acceptable and will lead to disqualification. The entrant's work(s) will not be eligible for any award nominations and no entry fee will be returned.

• Only entries complying to the above terms are eligible for nominations.

• Due to our numerous award categories, we are unable to screen all of our winning films. Our programming committee will select screening films from our top category award winners based on overall appeal and the ability to fit within our limited screening schedule.

• NAFA reserves the right to update or modify these terms and policies without prior notice.

14 Reviews

Overall Rating
  • false
    Tomas Sanchez

    great !!! experience thank you.

    January 2017
  • false
    bristol mac donald

    Great film festival with wonderful communication. Thank you NAFA!

    January 2017
  • false
    Vis Vitalis

    Yeahh, Thank you for Bronze Award in 2016, this was very good news for me in the end of year ). And my warm vibes to Team and people, who made this event possible... All independent filmmakers grateful to you!

    December 2016
  • false
    Silvano Plank

    Bronze Award for "Sun Comes Shining"

    December 2016
  • false
    Stephen M. Hunt

    Not many festivals accept stage play scripts - but this one does. hoooorayyyy!

    December 2016