Experiencing Interruptions?

New Day

“If you die for the old every day, then you are born for the new every day.” - Vitaly Gibert

  • Alexander Muravyev
    composer and performer
  • Alexander Muravyev
    Name of Band or Artist
  • Sergey Smolin
  • Alexander Mogilev
  • Alexander Muravyev
  • Sergey Smolin
  • Alexander Mogilev
  • Alexander Muravyev
  • Alexander Muravyev
    Key Cast
  • Project Title (Original Language):
    Новый День
  • Project Type:
    Music Video
  • Runtime:
    2 minutes 38 seconds
  • Completion Date:
    January 1, 2021
  • Production Budget:
    1,000 USD
  • Country of Origin:
    Russian Federation
  • Country of Filming:
    Russian Federation
  • Film Color:
  • First-time Filmmaker:
  • Student Project:
  • “RECITAL MUSIC 2021 Composition Competition"
    March 15, 2021
    The piece “New Day” is the winner (1st Prize) for the best piece for Double Bass Solo
Director Biography - Sergey Smolin, Alexander Mogilev

Alexander Muravyev was born in 1982 in Russia (the town of Ludinovo, Kaluga region). He studied at the Taneev College of Music (Kaluga) with teacher V. Dyakov, then graduated from the Gnesins Russian Academy of Music with prof. A. Belsky. Alexander is a laureate of numerous competitions in nominations such as Solo Double Bass, Solo Bass Guitar, Composition.
Member of the "International Union of Composers XXI AGE".
He collaborates with various symphony orchestras, musical and drama theatres, as well as with musical groups playing diversified styles ranging from classical and conceptual to popular and ska-punk music.
Alexander Muravyev is a composer and a performer of his own compositions for solo double bass and bass guitar.
He also participated and won numerous international composition competitions with music composed for double bass solo.
Alexander collaborated with the symphonic orchestra “Russian Philharmonia”, moreover, worked with Moscow State academic symphonic orchestra under Pavel Kogan and Russian State academic symphonic chapel under Valery Polyanskiy. Today Alexander plays bass guitar and double-bass in a musical play “Hooligan. Confession” in “Sergey Bezrukov Theater”. The musician also takes part in plays of “ApArte Theater”, “Theater of Nations”. Alexander played in Broadway musicals such as “Love Story” (A. Frandetti) and “The Awakening of Spring” (K. Serebrennikov).
Muravyev is also known as a musician who recorded music for the film “Eight” (directed by A. Uchitel) in 2013 and for the TV series “Ludmila Gurchenko” (directed by S. Aldonin) in 2015. His solo for double bass is soundtrack of the cartoon “The Artist and the Hooligans” (directed bu I. Maximov, 2016).
More than that, Alexander Muravyev released his original solo CD “Double Bass in Wonderland / Music for Double Bass solo” in 2016 and the music catalogue of the same name.
Furthermore, Alexander plays in a variety of Russian and international bands: Aydar Guynullin and the band Euphoria, Universal Music Band, Fandango and many others.
In 2017 there was a premiere of Symphonic poem “Bogaryr Fairy-Tale” (for obligarory Double Bass with orchestra) written for Pertu Iyga. The premiere took place in the Grand Concert Hall of the Russian Academy of Music.

In 2019, the premiere of the work for eight Double Basses "1984" took place in the Rachmaninov Hall of the Conservatory. The well-known Double Bass player Christine Hook (Austria) took part in the performance of the octet.

In March 2021, at the Grand Concert Hall them. Gnesins, the premiere of the symphonic triptych "Don Quixote" for Double Bass and orchestra (Double Bass and piano version) took place. Honored Artist of the Russian Federation Nikolay Gorbunov performed as a soloist.

Add Director Biography
Director Statement

"I don’t know which is better - evil, beneficial, or good, harmful." - Michelangelo