The American Headache Society (AHS) and its charitable division known as the American Migraine Foundation (AMF) (collectively “Sponsor”) announce a call for entries for the 1st Migraine Moment Contest (the “Contest”). The competition is designed to convey many powerful and complex ideas about migraine and people with migraine – the pain and burden of course, but also the struggles and triumphs in finding relief and help from treatments and doctors, family and friends. Who better to offer strategies and tips to those with migraine than sufferers themselves?

First place will receive $2,500; second place $1,000; and third place $500. Additionally, the Contestant submitting the “best picture” will be awarded travel/hotel to come to the Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina in San Diego, CA to present their work on Friday, June 10, 2016 at 9:00am during the American Headache Society's 58th Annual Scientific Meeting. Winners are responsible for all federal, state and local taxes.


Entries can be in the form of video, music videos, animation, simulations and visualizations (collectively referred to herein as “videos”). The contest is open to residents of the United States and Canada. However, the Contest is void where prohibited by law.

To qualify for the Contest, each submission must:

Be a complete finished work
Be uploaded at final resolution at time of entry
Video and audio content must be your own

General Guidelines

Films shall be no more than 5 minutes in length
Can be works of fiction, animation, or documentary in content
Meet the Official Contest Rules listed herein
Winners must grant the Sponsor a perpetual royalty-free worldwide license to publish/display submitted video content on any of Sponsor's websites or social media accounts
Contestants will retain all other rights to their work
Entries accepted over a 7 month period between September 1, 2015 to April 1, 2016.

Technical Video Guidelines

Video must be no more than 5 minutes in length
Videos must meet YouTube specifications which can be found at
Both audio/visual and visual only entries are permitted
The Sponsor reserves the right to disqualify any Video that it considers inappropriate for public viewing in its sole discretion
You agree not to use the Sponsor’s trademark in any manner in your Video without the prior written consent of the Sponsor
The Video must not prominently depict or refer to any brand or trademark
The Video must not contain any material that violates or infringes upon the rights of any third party, including without limitation copyrights, trademarks or rights of privacy, or that is defamatory, threatening, indecent, obscene or offensive, or that is unlawful, or in violation of or contrary to any applicable laws or regulations
Unless otherwise allowed by law, Videos may not contain materials embodying the names, likenesses, voices, or other indicia identifying any person without that person’s permission (or the permission of a parent/legal guardian if they person is under the age of majority in their jurisdiction or residence)

How to Enter

Complete the online submission form
Upload your Video to your YouTube channel
Indicate your agreement with the Legal Terms and Conditions by clicking on the acceptance on the second page of the online submission form
Submissions must be uploaded by 11:59:00PM EDT on Friday, April 1, 2016

Judging and Selection of Winners

Entries will be judged on creativity, originality, effectiveness, production quality and message. The entrees will be judged by members of the AHS Electronic Media Committee and Board of Directors. The odds of being chosen as a winner will depend on the number of entries received.

Winners will be announced on or about May 1, 2016.

The Sponsor will attempt to notify potential winners on or about April 30, 2016, via email or telephone. If Sponsor determines a winner is ineligible, has failed to comply with these Official Rules or any other applicable policies, or has failed to return any required documentation in a timely manner, the Sponsor has in its sole discretion may choose a different winner and disqualify the original winner. The winner is responsible for all federal, state, and local taxes on prizes.