We are a group of Charleston based filmmakers/actors who are putting together a film challenge that allows filmmakers from all over the world to submit a horror film with an exact run time of 60 seconds!

2020 Celebrity Judges:

Katie Featherston (Paranormal Activity)
Jenna Kanell (Terrifier)
Sylvia Jefferies (3 From Hell)
Katharine Isabelle (Ginger Snaps)
Miko Hughes (Pet Sematary)
Hannah Fierman (V/H/S)
Damian Maffei (Strangers: Prey at Night)

This year, all submission fees and donations will go to Wires Wild Life Rescue. With our hearts driven towards animal welfare, it is important to us that we support Australia during these uncontrollable wildfires and loss of habitats.

Our festival will be virtual this year due to COVID-19 and everyones safety, and will still feature our official selections which will be separated into SIX sub-horror categories (Comedy, Thriller, Out of this World, Slasher, Gore, and Monster) by our 6 festival directors.

We'll be posting all of the official selections online and then voting for the best in each category will be done online, and then the best out of each category will be up online after that, for voting of the "Best in Show." So it will be the same as our live event was last year, but done in the comfort of your home.

Our celebrity judges will still be viewing the Official Selections and sending us a video of them reading off their Top 10 Picks, will will go online as well.


This provides no advantage in any way to winning a category or Best In Show but is just cool and is definitely an award in itself.

Awards will be given for the following horror sub-categories:

Margot Award - Best Comedy

Benny Award - Best Thriller

Gizmo Award - Best Out of this World

Ziggy Award - Best Slasher

Mishka Award - Best Gore

Simon Award - Best Monster

Ghost Award - Best Directed

Best in Show - Best Over All Film

Any horror film can be submitted, from anywhere, as long as they have an exact run time of 60 seconds.

This would include credits, but it's recommended not to include credits since you ONLY have 60 seconds!

You can submit as many as you want!

If your film is officially selected, you are allowing us the ability to use segments of your submission for promotional material in helping advertise our film challenge. This does not guarantee all selected films will be used for advertisement but simply gives us permission to use short clips from your film if we so choose.

Overall Rating
  • The 60 Second Horror Challenge is a fantastic festival! Due to this year’s circumstances it was especially great to be able to watch all of the festival’s entries - so many great shorts! It was also fantastic to have my film viewed by such a great group of horror luminaries. It was an honor to be involved and to also help with a very worthy cause!

    October 2020
  • Fantastic film festival! Thank YOU for having us. I had an awesome time screening my film "Dark Passage"!

    October 2020
  • Derek Silver

    From donating the proceeds to charity to reviews from industry celebrities, these folks are a class act. Loved being part this film challenge. They didn't miss a beat with the setbacks of 2020 either. I look forward to future fests where I might be able to see all the magick in person.

    October 2020
  • Shane Mills

    The first year of the 60 second horror challenge was an absolute blast to be involved with. Rarely in industry do you get to have your work reviewed by legends, and help out a great cause all at once. The organizers of the festival were incredibly on their game. We were kept in the loop at all times, and we even got to watch the screening event in Charleston via live feed, seeing how the audience reacted to our work. We took home ‘Best Comedy’ and ‘Best in Show’ and hell, there were even physical ribbons they shipped to us priority, all the way up here in frozen Canada. I can’t thank the organizers enough for putting this off, and we can’t wait to bring it all again this year. This is one not to be missed.

    January 2020
  • Dingus Films

    Amazing event. Great people. Great cause.
    We will hopefully see them again next year!

    September 2019