The Ripper

Song taken from the 2nd album "The Sum Of My Parts". The Ripper (gimme back my love) is a dark song about schizophrenia, unrequited love, and murder.

  • Daniel Hackmair
  • Thomas Binder
  • Daniel Hackmair
  • Thomas Binder
  • Hackmonocut
    Key Cast
  • Ella
    Key Cast
  • Daniel Hackmair
  • Hackmonocut
    Name of Band or Artist
  • Project Type:
    Music Video
  • Genres:
    Alternative, Rock, Waltz Noir, Horror, Love
  • Runtime:
    4 minutes 46 seconds
  • Completion Date:
    July 25, 2015
  • Production Budget:
    800 EUR
  • Country of Origin:
  • Country of Filming:
  • Language:
  • Shooting Format:
  • Aspect Ratio:
  • Film Color:
  • First-time Filmmaker:
  • Student Project:
  • Short Of The Month Online Short Film Festival
    Winner Best Music Video August 2015
  • Wasteland Film Festival
    California City, CA
    September 24, 2015
    2015 Music Video Honorable Mention
  • Simply Shorts Film Festival - Halloween Special
    Brisbane, Australia
    October 25, 2015
    Australian Premiere
  • NYC Independent Film Festival 2016
    New York
    United States
    April 29, 2016
Director Biography - Daniel Hackmair, Thomas Binder

Dark and feral songs full of irony and social criticism tell of love, murder, and failed politics.

The dark soul of Hackmonocut's music comes along with a familiar feeling of melancholy in his voice, driven by humming, distorted rock guitars creating Hackmonocut's special kind of alternative rock noir sound.

Started in 2012 as a single man show and a busy year of songwriting and homerecording later, Hackmonocut released his debut album 'In The Land Of Basement Hobby Rooms' with 11 tracks. Followed by the video to the song 'Virgin Suicide Bomber' visualizing one of the darkest tracks of the album in November 2013.

While working on the video, Hackmonocut completed the process of forming a band, which gives you the opportunity to visit one of Hackmonocut's rare and exclusive live shows and watch the band performing an intense lineup which tempts their audience to dance with the dark soul of Hackmonocut's alternative rock noir.

Meanwhile Hackmonocut finished recording his 2nd solo album 'The Sum Of My Parts' which is on the market since August 14th, 2015. The new tracks focus more on love and murder than on politics, which makes the new album sound a little less raging but overall darker than 'In The Land Of Basement Hobby Rooms'. Sometimes you can even hear a little waltz noir in 3-quarter-time among uncompromising dark alternative rock noir songs. Watch the video to "The Ripper" or the album teaser to 'Used Love' to get a preview of what is to come.

In The Land Of Basement Hobby Rooms – Album, 2013
Virgin Suicide Bomber – Single, 2013
Virgin Suicide Bomber – Official Video, 2013
Used Love – Album Teaser, 2014
Dead Born Sister - Single, 2015
The Ripper - Official Video, 2015
The Sum Of My Parts - Album, 2015
Homeland - Single, 2016

Add Director Biography